Navarasa means Nine Emotions in which Nava signifies nine and Rasa signifies Emotions. The nine emotions included in Navarasa are Shringara (love), Hasya (laughter), Karuna (kind-heartedness or compassion), Raudra (anger), Veera (courage), Bhayanaka (terror), Bheebhatsya (disgust), Adbutha (surprise), and Shantha (peace or tranquility). These are the emotions that human shows according to the situations.

Bharata Muni has explained these nine emotions or Navarasa in his treatise Natyashasthra. Natyashasthra is an ancient Indian treatise. Each emotion explained in Natyashasthra has a specific color associated with it. It is said that Bharata Muni explained only eight rasa and Abhinavagupta explained the ninth one.

Click here to view the blog.